Mom’s Kindle story (which obviously includes a cake)

While typing the name of the post, and since we are on the topic of books, how on earth are you supposed to say “obviously”? Do you say ob-viously? I think you would sound like a bit of a nut if you did,but I have never heard of a silent “b”. Are there others?

OK- I just googled it and you are supposed to pronounce the b, but does anyone ever? Maybe those fancy English Professors from Oxford? Oh well. Back onto why we are really here….. CAKES!

There is quite a long history of my mom and the kindle, as she went through now her third kindle this year.

Last year for my mom’s birthday, 9December to be exact, we bought my mom a kindle, since the. They weren’t freely available in SA I had to order over amazon and we had to pay pretty much the price of the kindle in shipping charges. We got this kindle for her because it was small and light and with all of her traveling would have been perfect.

This kindle lasted very well and was very good to my mom, until we went to New York in October. Her fiend and her stayed at the Milford NYC near Times Square and they were doing crazy construction there. Her room key was duplicated and someone entered the room while they were out and stole my mom’s kindle out of the draw next to her bed. That is all they took, as my mom and her friend had 6 iPads in the room between them as gifts for family., so thank goodness they didn’t see those.

So when we returned I gave my min the kindle she had bought me a while ago because ever since I got my iPad I have been reading off there. About 3 weeks later, my mom goes off onto one of her African trips and that kindle broke. I don’t think I have ever heard of a kindle breaking… Haha.

So now we get to the inspiration for the cake – we bought my mom the now newest kindle, the small black one for her birthday and we got it here in SA. I ordered online and it was delivered within 4 hours. Hence, we made her a kindle cake. Red velvet is her new favourite, so that was the inside, which the classic cream cheese icing.

Hope my mom had an awesome birthday and was so nice to spend it with her for the first time in a long time.

20130103-151423.jpg

I didn’t use black fondant here, I painted the fondant with a mix of black food colouring and vodka, the same technique I used on the Halloween pumpkin. I am finding it works with dark colours, but have had some mishaps, which I will explain in my Spiderman cake which I did the same weekend.

I used an edible print of the text on the box of the kindle and used a mix of silver luster dust and vodka again to do the writing which I free handed. The cutters would have been too big and the wrong font.

Xxx Kay

Leave a comment