Jameson bottle cake

Recently it was my boss’ birthday and he is a big whiskey fan. I thought I should make a cake of his favourite whiskey, Jameson.

This was only my second time using fondant, first time using the cornstarch on the board and rolling pin and really worked so well.

I used 7 x 6 inch rounds cut in half to make semi-circles. I put them all in a row, iced them together and then carved the bottle neck with the help of hubby. Rolled out the fondant and put it on, which was much easier to use than a round cake. Once the fondant was on, I “painted” it with water in order to give the bottle a shiny appearance. I got the label printed at the baking shop and just plopped that on. It stuck quite nicely because of the water on the fondant.

And voila….

I mixed a little bit of red and brown fondant together to make the colour for the bottle top. Made lines in it with a knife, as I didnt have any carving tools yet. The sides were lined white buttercream to finish it off, but think it looked better without it. I brought it a day too early and the fondant started cracking, but not too badly. Looked good when it went to the herds to be devoured.

xxx Kay

One thought on “Jameson bottle cake

Leave a Reply

